Liz Williams

Dr Liz Williams is a British science fiction writer. The Ghost Sister, her first novel, was published in 2001. Both this novel and her second, Empire of Bones, were nominated for the Philip K. Dick Award. She is also the author of the Inspector Chen series.

Williams is the daughter of a stage magician and a Gothic novelist. She holds a PhD in Philosophy of Science from Cambridge. She has had short stories published in Asimov’s, Interzone, The Third Alternative and Visionary Tongue. From the mid-nineties until 2000, she lived and worked in Kazakhstan. Her experiences there are reflected in her 2003 novel Nine Layers of Sky. This novel brings into the modern era the Bogatyr Ilya Muromets and Manas, the hero of the Epic of Manas. She currently resides in Glastonbury.

The Ghost Sister (June 2001) – Philip K. Dick Award nominee
Empire of Bones (March 2002) – Philip K. Dick Award nominee
The Poison Master (January 2003)
Nine Layers of Sky (August 2003)
Banner of Souls (September 2004) – Shortlisted for the 20th Arthur C. Clarke Award, Philip K. Dick Award nominee
Detective Inspector Chen
Snake Agent (September 2005)
The Demon and the City (August 2006)
Precious Dragon (June 2007)
The Shadow Pavilion (August 2009)
The Iron Khan (December 2010)
Morningstar (Forthcoming 2011)
Darkland (February 2006)
Bloodmind (February 2007)
Winterstrike (September 2008)
Winterstrike sequel (Forthcoming)
Winterstrike conclusion Forthcoming
The Banquet of the Lords of Night and Other Stories (2004)